Bridgend County Borough Council,Civic Offices, Angel Street, Bridgend, CF31 4WB

Tel: 01656 643643
Text Relay:
18001 01656 643643
Fax: 01656 668126
Sign Video BSL Live

Opening times
Monday - Thursday 8.30am - 5.00pm
Friday 8.30am - 4.30pm

How to find us

What is the Civil Contingencies Act?

The Civil Contingencies Act 2004 came into effect on 14 November 2005. It aims to establish a consistent level of civil protection across the United Kingdom. The act provides a basic framework for organisations and agencies who plan for local and/or national emergencies and explains how these organisations and agencies should work together, providing a framework to formalise joint working.

The act identifies which organisations are responsible for responding to emergencies and classifies them either as Category 1 or Category 2 Responders.

Category 1 responders are those at the core of emergency response; they comprise of the emergency services, including the coastguard, local authorities, health care trusts and Natural Resources Wales. All ‘Category 1’ responder have six duties placed upon them (local authorities have seven). These are explained on the following page: ‘Local Responsibilities under the CCA’.

Category 2 responders are less likely to have a central role in planning forums but may be heavily involved in response to specific emergencies. Examples of Category 2 responders include specialist agencies such as utility and transport companies, the HSE and strategic health authorities. The Act only places two duties upon these organisations, these relate to sharing of information and cooperation with Category 1 and 2 responders.

Last Updated: 28/03/2014
Level A conformance icon, W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0 Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! Link to - public services all in one place National Assembly for Wales Browsealoud